Academic Programme

The training of professional agricultural extension officers is accomplished through a unique partnership between the School of Agriculture, Earth and Environmental Sciences and CEDARA Agricultural College. In this memorandum of agreement , the undergraduate programme is taught on the CEDARA campus, and PG student registration , supervision and mentoring are offered on the Pietermaritzburg campus.


Professional Extension requires the development of capabilities in six areas:

  • Innovation
  • Technology Development & Scientific Enquiry
  • Sustainable Livelihoods en Development Concepts
  • Learning
  • Systems Thinking
  • Target Facilitation


The AERRM programme developes competencies in these areas through the following content:


Undergraduate Content

  • Rural economic systems and prosperity
  • Rural development and wealth creation
  • Extension theory and participatory extension practice
  • Natural resources and sustainable land use
  • Farming systems
  • Farm business management and land use planning
  • Agricultural production (crops and livestock)
  • Farm infrastructure and machinery


Areas of research expertise offered in AERRM

  • Agricultural extension and related topics
  • Agricultural extension education
  • Sustainable livelihoods and post-colonial participatory development, social ecology, trans and multi-disciplinary science, action learning and research


Content of Honours programmes

  • Understanding complexity: Systems thinking foundations, extensions as learning
  • Placement experiences in rural development organisations/institutions
  • Project design and management for extension programmes
  • Advanced extension theory and practice
  • Research in Extension/Rural Development


PG Degrees Offered

  • Bachelor of Agriculture Honours (Extension and Resource Management)
  • Masters by Research in Agriculture (Agriculture Extension & Rural Resource Management)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) by Research


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved